The Solitaire du Figaro 2011

Perros Guirec – Caen – Dun Laoghaire – Les Sables d’Olonne – Dieppe – from 29 July to 28 August

With a 1,695 mile course between the English Channel, the Atlantic and the Irish Sea, the 2011 vintage of the Solitaire du Figaro promises to be first-rate for the solo sailors taking part. The 320 miles that make up the first stage between Perros Guirec and Caen will serve as a tough introduction for the competitors, who will have to escape the various pitfalls and currents along the coastline of France’s Côte d’Armor region. Once clear of land they can go and ‘play’ along the British coastline, before setting a course for the Baie de Seine in North-East France. Act 2 sets out from Normandy on a 470 mile battle to the only overseas stopover of this 2011 edition of the Solitaire du Figaro. After a coastal course along the shores of the Cotentin and as far as the Cap de la Hague, competitors will head towards Land’s End, at the South-West tip of England, then on to Ireland and Dun Laoghaire situated to the South-East of Dublin. The third leg will span some 475 miles between the Emerald Isle and Les Sables d’Olonne on France’s Atlantic coast, via what will always be a tricky negotiation of the North-West tip of Brittany and the passage of the islands of Groix, Belle-Ile-en-Mer and Yeu. Finally, it’s between the Vendée region and Dieppe that the event’s epilogue will be written, after a rounding of Brittany, another passage of the Raz Blanchard and a finish which, some two years ago, had some nasty surprises in store for a number of sailors, who remained trapped beneath the Norman cliffs. Again something rather special to consecrate an exceptional sailor and enable Jean-Pierre Nicol to express the true range of his talent.

JP’s point of view :

“The course for the 2011 edition is doubtless a little more coastal than usual and I admit that I’m fairly pleased about that. Generally I feel less at ease over the big sections, where there is a lot of lateral separation. Obviously I still feel positive about last year’s Irish stage and in events like this confidence is important. There’s going to be a fair few passages of the Raz Blanchard and with it comes the promise that you’re taking your life in your hands each time. The fleet will certainly be spread out at the finish and we’ll have to be vigilant so as not to miss out on the chance to pull a blinder should the opportunity arise. We’ll begin with a fairly short initial leg which won’t be a bad introduction. Whether or not there’s a big split between the fleet, the next stage will ensue… I know that I’m going to have to stay with the frontrunners and not miss my chance. Beyond that, there will be some fine warlike stages where it’ll be necessary to really give it your all, especially in the Irish Sea”.

 

  Programme for the Solitaire du Figaro From 23 to 31 July: Perros Guirec Saturday 23 July: Opening of the race village Friday 29 July: Prologue Eric Bompard Sunday 31 July: Start of the 1st 320 mile leg to Caen From 2 to 7 August: Caen Tuesday 2 August: Scheduled finish of the boats Sunday 7 August: Start of the 2nd 470 mile leg to Dun Laoghaire (Ireland) From 10 to 14 August: Dun Laoghaire (Ireland) Wednesday 10 August: Scheduled finish of the boats Sunday 14 August: Start of the 3rd leg to Les Sables d’Olonne (475 miles) From 17 to 21 August: Les Sables d’Olonne Wednesday 17 August: Scheduled finish of the boats Sunday 21 August: Start of the 4th leg to Dieppe (430 miles) From 24 to 28 August – Dieppe Wednesday 24 August: Scheduled finish of the boats Sunday 28 August: Conclusion to Racing   >> Plus d’infos : www.lasolitaire.com

La Solitaire du Figaro 2011

Perros Guirec – Caen – Dun Laoghaire – Les Sables d’Olonne – Dieppe – du 29 juillet au 28 août

1 695 milles à parcourir entre Manche, Atlantique, mer Celtique et mer d’Irlande, le cru 2011 de la Solitaire du Figaro s’annonce comme un morceau de choix pour les solitaires en lice.  Les 320 milles de la première étape entre Perros Guirec et Caen feront office de mise en jambe corsée pour les concurrents qui devront se sortir des courants et embûches du littoral costarmoricain pour aller « jouer » le long des côtes britanniques avant de mettre le cap sur la Baie de Seine. Acte 2 au départ de la Normandie et cap sur 470 milles de lutte et  la seule escale étrangère de cette édition 2011 de la Solitaire du Figaro. Après un parcours côtier le long des rivages du Cotentin et jusqu’au cap de la Hague, les concurrents pointeront leur étrave vers Land’s End, à la pointe Sud Ouest de l’Angleterre, puis sur l’Irlande et Dun Laoghaire situé au Sud Est de Dublin. 475 milles seront à suivre pour le troisième volet disputé entre la verte Erin et Les Sables d’Olonne, via une négociation toujours délicate de la pointe Bretagne et du passage des îles de Groix, Belle-Ile-en-Mer et Yeu. Enfin, c’est entre la Vendée et Dieppe que s’écrira l’épilogue de l’épreuve, après un contournement de la Bretagne, un nouveau passage au raz Blanchard et un finish qui, il y a deux ans, avait réservé de mauvaises surprises à quelques marins restés piégés sous les falaises normandes. De quoi sacrer une fois encore un marin d’exception et permettre à un Jean-Pierre Nicol d’exprimer toute la palette de ses talents.

L’analyse de JP :

« Le parcours de l’édition 2011 est sans doute un peu plus côtier que d’habitude et j’avoue qu’il me plait assez. D’une manière générale, je me sens moins à l’aise sur les grandes portions, quand il y a beaucoup d’écart en latéral. Je reste bien évidemment sur une note positive avec l’étape irlandaise de l’année passée et sur des épreuves comme celle ci, la sérénité est importante. Il va y avoir pas mal de passages au Raz Blanchard et la promesse d’un coupe gorge à chaque fois. Il y aura certainement beaucoup d’écart à l’arrivée et il faudra être vigilant sur les coups à ne pas manquer. Nous partirons sur une première étape assez courte qui ne sera pas mal pour une mise en jambes. En fonction de l’écart ou pas, la suite en découlera… Je sais que je vais devoir rester dans le paquet de tête et ne pas rater le coche. Derrière, de belles étapes de guerriers sur lesquelles il faudra lâcher ses coups, notamment en mer d’Irlande ».

  Programme de la Solitaire du Figaro

Du 23 au 31 juillet  : Perros Guirec

Samedi 23 juillet : Ouverture du village Vendredi 29 juillet : Prologue Eric Bompard Dimanche 31 juillet : Départ de la 1ère étape de 320 milles vers Caen Dé 2 au 7 août : Caen Mardi 2 août : Arrivée prévue des bateaux Dimanche 7 août : Départ de la 2ème étape de 470 milles vers Dun Laoghaire (Irlande) Du 10 au 14 août : Dun Laoghaire (Irlande) Mercredi 10 août : Arrivée prévue des bateaux Dimanche 14 août : Départ de la 3ème étape vers Les Sables d’Olonne (475 milles) Du 17 au 21 août : Les Sables d’Olonne Mercredi 17 août : Arrivée prévue des bateaux Dimanche 21 août : Départ de la 4ème étape vers Dieppe (430 milles) Du 24 au 28 août – Dieppe Mercredi 24 août : Arrivée prévue des bateaux Dimanche 28 août : Régate de Clôture   >> Plus d’infos : www.lasolitaire.com